Cambridge, Mass. – May 6, 2011 – Harmonix today announced that a four pack of songs from Foo Fighters, including two off their new album, as well as singles from Run-DMC and Lordi, will be available beginning May 10 in theRock Band 3 Music Store of downloadable content for the Xbox 360®video game and entertainment system from Microsoft, PlayStation®3 computer entertainment system and Wii.

Rock Band provides the deepest and best selection of artists, songs and albums through the Rock Band music platform, which features more than 900 artists and more than 2,700* tracks via disc and download purchase (complete list of tracks at Rock Band’s gigantic music library dwarfs that of any other rhythm video game on the market. More than 100 million songs have been sold through the Rock Band Music Store since its launch Nov. 20, 2007.

Rock Band DLC Additions for Xbox 360, PlayStation®3 system and Wii
Over here in Rock Band land, we love the Foo Fighters, as evidenced by our extensive catalog of their songs (see the full list here). We love the Foo Fighters so much that we’re celebrating their new (and very well received) album by bringing fans a four pack of songs from the alternative rock band that features two songs from that new album, Wasting Light. The band is currently touring the world in promotion of their new album. To find out where you can see the Foo Fighters, check out their tourschedule.

Wasting Light is the Foo Fighters’ seventh studio album and debuted April 12 at No. 1. Spin gave the new album a 9 out of 10, while Rolling Stone awarded it four out of five stars. Foo Fighters Pack 04 will feature “Rope” (which also features a Pro Guitar/Bass upgrade), the first single off Wasting Light, which debuted at the top of the Rock Songs chart in March. “Walk”, also from Wasting Light, will also be featured in the pack, along with “Long Road to Ruin” from the GRAMMY® Award-winning albumEchoes, Silence, Patience & Grace; and “Stacked Actors” from the GRAMMY® Award-winning albumThere Is Nothing Left to Lose.

But that’s not all! We’ll also be releasing Pro Guitar and Pro Bass upgrades next week for two back-catalog Foo Fighters songs – “Monkey Wrench” and “The Pretender”. Fans who have already downloaded those songs will be able to purchase a simple upgrade that will allow them to play Pro Guitar and Pro Bass on those songs in Rock Band 3. For fans who haven’t yet purchased those songs – this is a great opportunity to do so!

Next week’s DLC drop will also feature “Hard Rock Hallelujah” from Finnish heavy metal band Lordi, which reached No. 1 in Finland, as well as Run-DMC’s “King of Rock”, the 1985 single from the album of the same name.

As always, songs available as downloadable content for Rock Band 3 feature five-button guitar and bass parts, drums, Pro Drums, and keys, Pro Keys and harmonies, where applicable. Some songs also feature Pro Guitar and Pro Bass upgrades available for an additional $0.99 upgrade download.

Available on Xbox 360 and Wii (May 10) and PlayStation®3 system (May 19):

  • Foo Fighters – “Long Road to Ruin”
  • Foo Fighters – “Rope” X
  • Foo Fighters – “Stacked Actors”
  • Foo Fighters – “Walk”
  • Run-DMC – “King of Rock”
  • Lordi – “Hard Rock Hallelujah”

Pro Guitar/Bass Additions for Legacy Songs:

  • Foo Fighters – “Monkey Wrench”
  • Foo Fighters – “The Pretender”

(These tracks will be available in Europe on PlayStation®3 system May 18)

These tracks will be available for purchase as “Foo Fighters Pack 04” and as individual tracks on Xbox 360, PlayStation®3 system and Wii. Tracks marked with “X” will include Pro Guitar and Pro Bass expansions for $0.99 per song.

$1.99 USD, £.99 UK, €1.49 EU (160 Microsoft Points) per song
$2.00USD (200 Wii Points) per song
$0.99 USD (100 Wii Points/80 Microsoft Points), £0.59 UK, €0.79 EU per song for eligible Pro Guitar/Pro Bass upgrade
$6.99, £3.49 UK, €5.29 EU (560 Microsoft Points, 700 Wii Points) for Foo Fighters Pack 04

** Dates for Rock Band game tracks are tentative and subject to change. **

*Available on-disc, via download and disc export. Internet connection and export key purchase required. Wii™ Shop Channel has more than 1,500 song tracks available for purchase on the Rock Bandplatform on-disc, via song import, and download. Not applicable to Nintendo DS™.