Cambridge, Mass. – May 21, 2010 – Harmonix and MTV Games today announced that Pantera’s metal masterpiece, The Great Southern Trendkill, will be available next week in the Rock Band Music Store of downloadable content for the Xbox 360® video game and entertainment system from Microsoft, PlayStation®3 computer entertainment system and Wii™.

With more than 400 artists, including Jimi Hendrix, The Who, AC/DC and Green Day, who are exclusive to Rock Band, as well as more than 1,200 songs available through the Rock Band platform and 65 million songs sold through its download store alone, Rock Band is the undisputed sales and content leader in the interactive music space, providing the deepest and best selection of artists, songs and albums.

Rock Band DLC additions for Xbox 360, PlayStation 3 system and Wii

Heavy rock legends Pantera are making their Rock Band debut next week in a big way, by bringing fan-favorite album, The Great Southern Trendkill, to the Rock Band Music Library. Pantera formed in Texas in 1981 and has been named to VH1’s “100 Greatest Artists of Hard Rock” and MTV’s “Top 10 Greatest Heavy Metal Bands of All Time,” and has sold more than 8 million albums in the United States. The Great Southern Trendkill was released in 1996, as the band’s eighth studio album, reached No. 4 on the Billboard Top 200 and was declared platinum in August 2004. “Floods,” featured on The Great Southern Trendkill, contains a guitar solo that Guitar World voted its 15th Greatest Guitar Solo of All-Time.
Pantera released a greatest hits collection in March 2001, titled 1990-2000: A Decade of Domination, which is available exclusively at Walmart and contains 10 remastered tracks. Additionally, former Pantera drummer Vinnie Paul is set to release an album called Stampede from Hellyeah, his collaboration with members of Mudvayne, Damageplan and Nothingface, in July.

Available on Xbox 360, Wii and PlayStation 3 system (May 25):

· “The Great Southern Trendkill”

· “War Nerve”

· “Drag the Waters”

· “10’s”

· “13 Steps to Nowhere”

· “Suicide Note Pt. II”

· “Living Through Me (Hell’s Wrath)

· “Floods”

· “The Underground in America”

· “(Reprise) Sandblasted Skin”

(All tracks are original master recordings; “Suicide Note Pt. I” is not included in this pack.)

(These tracks will be available in Europe on PlayStation 3 system May 26)

These tracks will be available for purchase as “The Great Southern Trendkill (Album),”as well as individual tracks on Xbox 360 and PlayStation 3 system, and as individual tracks only on Wii.

Price: $1.99 USD, £.99 UK, €1.49 EU (160 Microsoft Points for Xbox 360) per track
$15.99, £9.99 UK, €12.99 EU (1280 Microsoft Points for Xbox 360) for “The Great Southern Trendkill (Album)”
$2.00 USD (200 Wii Points™) per track
** Dates for Rock Band game tracks are tentative and subject to change. **

PR email