Cambridge, Mass. – Oct. 8, 2010 – Harmonix and MTV Games today announced that songs from The Jimi Hendrix Experience’s classic album, Are You Experienced, will be added next week to the Rock Band Music Store of downloadable content for the Xbox 360® video game and entertainment system from Microsoft, PlayStation®3 computer entertainment system and Wii™.

Janie Hendrix, CEO of Experience Hendrix LLC commented, “What an honor it is for Jimi’s music to be part of the Rock Band family. We’re delighted that his sound has found yet another route to propel his art and legacy by offering a multigenerational experience that will be a source of inspiration for future musicians.”

These additions put the Rock Band Music Library at more than 2,000* songs available prior to the launch of Rock Band 3. With all of this new content, the designers behind Rock Band 3 have done a serious makeover on the Music Library and how you sort, filter and play music. To check the vignette, click here.

Rock Band provides the deepest and best selection of artists, songs and albums through the Rock Band music platform, which features more than 800 artists and more than 2,000* tracks via disc and download purchase (complete list of tracks at To date, more than 75 million songs have been sold through the Rock Band Music Store since its launch Nov. 20, 2007. Rock Band 3 will be available Oct. 26 in North America and Oct. 29 in Europe, Australia, New Zealand and other territories for Xbox 360, PlayStation 3 system, Wii and Nintendo DS™ followed by more weekly content additions to the Rock BandRock Band’s gigantic music library dwarfs that of any other rhythm video game on the market. Find more information on how to pre-order Rock Band 3 today here. Music Store.

Rock Band DLC Additions for Xbox 360, PlayStation 3 system and Wii
Tracks from Are You Experienced will be added next week to the Rock Band Music Store. The Jimi Hendrix Experience’s iconic debut studio album, was released in 1967, and includes some of Hendrix fans’ most-loved songs, like “Purple Haze,” “Manic Depression” and more. Are You Experienced was a major hit when it was released, becoming the best-selling album in the United States in 1968, and continues to resonate with fans today, charting in the Billboard 100 earlier this year and named No. 15 on Rolling Stone’s 2003 list of Rolling Stone’s 500 Greatest Albums of All Time.
Additionally, alternate versions of songs originally recorded for Are You Experienced will also be released next week, including versions of “Hey Joe (Live)” from Voodoo Child: The Jimi Hendrix Collection, “Fire (Live)” from Hendrix’s famous performance at Woodstock, and “Stone Free” from Valleys of Neptune, a collection of previously unreleased Hendrix recordings that was put out earlier this year.

These tracks join Hendrix’s “Fire,” which is already available on-disc for LEGO® Rock Band, as well as the entirety of Axis: Bold As Love and the single “Valleys of Neptune” from the album of the same name, which were released as downloadable content earlier this year.

Seattle-born rock icon Jimi Hendrix is recognized by many as one of the most creative and influential musicians of the 20th Century. Hendrix is a member of the U.S. Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and the UK Music Hall of Fame, has a star on the Hollywood Walk of Fame, was named by Rolling Stone as the No. 1 guitarist of all time and was the first inductee to the Native American Hall of Fame.

Legacy Recordings and Experience Hendrix LLC, on Nov. 16, will release West Coast Seattle Boy – The Jimi Hendrix Anthology. The five CD box set includes 45 unreleased Jimi Hendrix live and studio recordings including demos and alternate versions of songs from Are You Experienced, Axis: Bold As Love and Electric Ladyland. West Coast Seattle Boy includes Hendrix’s never before heard version of Bob Dylan’s “Tears Of Rage,” solo acoustic recordings of Electric Ladyland favorites like “Long Hot Summer Night” and “1983 (A Merman I Shall Turn To Be),” as well as never-before-heard live performances from Berkeley and the legendary Band Of Gypsys Fillmore East concert on New Year’s Eve 1969, combined together with such new Hendrix songs as “Hear My Freedom,” “Hound Dog Blues,” “Lonely Avenue” and more.

Additionally, for the first time in its history, Experience Hendrix, the concert tour that has wowed audiences revisiting the music and inspiration of Jimi Hendrix featuring an all-star line up of music greats will be re-launched within a single calendar year. The Experience Hendrix tour crisscrossed the country this past March for a string of sold-out concerts and will return with a new set of U.S. and — for the first time — Canadian dates this October and November. For more information on the tour, which begins Oct. 26, please visit

Available on Xbox 360, Wii and PlayStation 3 system (Oct. 12):

· “Purple Haze” +

· “Manic Depression” +

· “Hey Joe (Live)”

· “Love or Confusion” +

· “May This Be Love” +

· “The Wind Cries Mary” +

· “Fire (Live)”

· “3rd Stone from the Sun” +

· “Foxey Lady” +

· “Are You Experienced?”

· “Stone Free” +

· “Highway Chile” +

(All tracks are original master recordings)

(These tracks will be available in Europe on PlayStation 3 system Oct. 13)

These tracks will be available for purchase as individual tracks, as well as “Are You Experienced. Rock Band Edition (Album) on Xbox 360 and PlayStation 3 system and as individual tracks on Wii. Tracks marked with “+” will also be available for download in the family-friendly Lego® Rock Band Music Store.

Price: $1.99 USD, £.99 UK, €1.49 EU (160 Microsoft Points) per song
$2.00 USD (200 Wii Points™) per song
$19.99, £9.99 UK, €14.99 EU (1,600 Microsoft Points) for Are You Experienced: Rock Band Edition (Album)
** Dates for Rock Band game tracks are tentative and subject to change. **

*Available on-disc, via download and disc export. Internet connection and export key purchase required. Wii has over 1,500 song tracks available for purchase on the Rock Band platform on-disc, via song import, and download. Not applicable to Nintendo DS.